In which I don’t even try to figure out how many weeks it’s been since I last posted…

So, it’s been awhile since I updated on the ‘ole garden progress.  Life has gotten immeasurably busy around here over the last month.  I’ve been tutoring and volunteering at our local zoo all summer.  Some big decisions have also been made.  First, I switched jobs.  Originally I worked as a Special Education Paraprofessional in a specialized support classroom.  Say THAT three times fast!  This year I was offered a job as a 2nd grade aide at the Christian school where my son attends.  The truth is, I only accepted because of the 50% tuition discount.  I loved my job with special ed.  It was HARD but I loved it and I loved my kids.  I was in complete teaching freedom over those kids and I relished that.  Moving to the new school I was actually hoping that I wouldn’t have to teach.  Yesterday was my first day at the new school and it appears that I got my wish.  It looks like I will primarily be grading papers, doing some literature groups and monitoring in the afternoon and occasionally doing lunch/recess.  Sounds brainless enough, which is just what I wanted.

The second major change is that I’ve decided to go to school, hence the whole wanting a mindless job this year.  I have always had a passion for animals.  It would even be fair to say that I prefer them to people any day.  So, this is my first week of Veterinary Assisting classes.  I’m so completely and utterly excited.  The funny thing is, I don’t know that I really WANT to be a Vet Assistant but I want to get into the animal field and this is the shortest certification I can take in relation.  I’m not sure what my next step will be but I have some ideas rolling around in my head.

One of the things I decided when I left my old school was that I would cut ties with it completely this year.  For the last 6 yrs. I have volunteered there more hours than I could possibly count.  I did literature groups, I ran the program, I volunteered a full year in the spec. ed. class, I tutored, I mentored, I… can’t even remember what else.  There for awhile I was volunteering about 10 hrs. a day 3 – 4 days a week.  That’s like a full time job.  Instead, I am focusing my volunteering hours in the animal field.  This summer I’ve been volunteering at the local zoo and am planning to put in some time at either a local no-kill shelter or the SPCA in the next town.  With working, going to school and having a family I need to figure out how to make it all happen without making myself crazy though.

If you’ve known me more than 15 min. you probably know that I sort of run an unofficial halfway house for cats.  Felines have always been drawn to our home and seem to show up when they’re most in need.  This summer I’ve been busy doing kitty rehab with 1 feral and 1 stray.  The feral adopted us as a kitten about 4 yrs. ago.  It took over a year to even be able to get close enough to just barely touch him.  Over the years he has taken to laying on the porch during the day but will still only allow me to pet him sporadically.  Several months ago he came down with something – kitty flu/cold/allergies – I really don’t know what.  I was able to get an antibiotic to treat him and he seems to be getting a little better.  The miraculous part is that I have switched him (and the other cats) over to a raw food diet I’ve been supplementing the antibiotic with a Bach Flower blend called Rescue Remedy.  It is supposed to help calm his nerves and make him more mellow.  Well, a couple of days ago I walk out into the garage where I have him quarantined and he comes running out of his hidey hole, right up to me and starts meowing.  He was asking to be petted!  How amazing is that?  A FERAL!!!!!!!  I am so thrilled with his progress I could cry.  The antibiotic isn’t doing the whole job at getting rid of the “crud” that he has though.  I’m going to try some Ph swinging and some other supplements to try to boost his immune system and see if that helps.  He has come a LONG way though.

I’m thinking at this point this post has gotten long enough.  I’ll update on the garden later.  🙂

Leave a Reply

