Read-A-Thon Hour 13

Well, I spent the better portion of the last hour catching up on blogging and doing the Mini-Challenges.  This is the first year I have done ANY of the challenges and I find that they take up a LOT of time, however, they are also keeping me sane.  During this hour I read ch. 22 of Mockingjay and I’ve made it to 80% completion.  The end is near.

1. What are you reading right now?  Still working on Mockingjay
2. How many books have you read so far?  Zero completed; One in progress and nearly finished
3. What book are you most looking forward to for the second half of the Read-a-thon?  The Cirque du Freak series 3 – 12
4. Did you have to make any special arrangements to free up your whole day?  No.  I just told the people who matter that I was pretty much “off duty” today.
5. Have you had many interruptions? How did you deal with those?  A certain boy-child has been in and out several times and we did take a 2 hr. hiatus to go do the Paws for People Walk-A-Thon late this morning.  I also had an hour-long hiccup when my Facebook decided it didn’t want to play nice with Read-A-Thon readers and I had to come here and do everything from my blog.  Honestly, I got really grumpy and irritated with the whole Facebook/Blog thing but all the rest was just life and it didn’t bother me at all.
6. What surprises you most about the Read-a-thon, so far?  That I am STILL on my first book but that I’m also not feeling exhausted as in past years.
7. Do you have any suggestions for how to improve the Read-a-thon next year? I can’t think of anything right now but admittedly, I’m a little fuzzy brained at the moment.
8. What would you do differently, as a Reader or a Cheerleader, if you were to do this again next year?  As a reader I will probably just start out with posting through my blog next year instead of trying to do it in Facebook Notes.  Apparently the whole privacy thing on Facebook doesn’t make having random people visiting a possibility (umm duh!  Why didn’t I realize that before?).
9. Are you getting tired yet?  A little but nothing significant yet.  I think I’ll pace some more over the next hour and maybe spend some time out in the freezing night air.
10. Do you have any tips for other Readers or Cheerleaders, something you think is working well for you that others may not have discovered?  The Mini-Challenges seem to be really keeping my sanity this year.  It’s the first time I’ve participated and, while they do take up a bit of time they are very good for keeping me fresh.  Also, Text-to-Speak on my Kindle has been good for when I really had to get something done like making the boy-child dinner or filling the dishwasher.

1 Response so far »

  1. 1

    Samantha said,

    It sounds like you are doing really good so far! I really need to give the Hunger Games trilogy a go as all I’ve heard is good things. Hope you are having lots of fun today while you read!!

    *Keep it up,
    You’re doing great,
    Read lots of books,
    And stay up late!*


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

