Read-A-Thon Intro.

IT’S TODAY!  IT’S TODAY!

Many people look forward to the Dewey’s 24-Hour Read-A-Thon in April and October of every year as evidenced by the 442 readers who are signed up for the event today.  I’ve personally had it on my calendar for months and anyone who has any stock in my life whatsoever knows that these two weekends are blocked out.  The husband has been informed that I am not to be disturbed and the boy child has instructions to find anything to do that doesn’t involve bugging me.  He knows he’s welcome to read with me but rarely does.  The whole thing might sound a bit selfish but in this world where we are expected to be “ON” all the time, standing at the ready for the husband/wife, child or friend that needs you RIGHT. THIS. MINUTE. I think it’s perfectly acceptable, even necessary, to take a little time for yourself every now and then.  This is just the way I do it because it makes me indescribably happy.

This year I have a minor conflict as the Paws For Pals Walk-A-Thon is also today.  Not a big deal though; that’s what audiobooks are for!

Snacks are at the ready, pillows and blankets are prepared to be snuggled into, my house is relatively clean and my To-Be-Read Bag is filled to the brim with books that I can’t wait to dig into over the next 24-hours.

Included are:

Mockingjay by Suzanne Collins

Wolves At Our Door: The Extraordinary Life of the Couple Who Lived With Wolves by Jim and Jamie Dutcher

Stoneheart by Charlie Fletcher

A Lion Called Christian by Anthony Bourke

The Saga of Larten Crepsley (Cirque du Freak) series 3 – 12 by Darren Shan

Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban by J.K. Rowling (audiobook) and whatever else might tickle my fancy along the way.

I really wish I had realized before now that there is a Dexter Morgan book series; I would have been all over that.  Maybe a trip to the library will be in order later.

Leave a Reply

