The not so cold, not so hard winter!

This has probably been one of the mildest winters in recent memory.  Of course, ye olde memory isn’t all that great so that’s not really saying much.  Nevertheless, the days have been rather pleasant here on the East Coast, particularly over the last two months.  What, you may be asking, has this suburban homesteader been doing to take advantage of all of this wonderful weather?  Not a darn thing!

Okay, that’s not entirely true but it’s pretty close.  The husband has done a lot of tree trimming and leaf mulch pile making of late while I tend to the day-to-dayness of running the house.  This past weekend, probably one of the worst possible days weather-wise, the husband and I spent a wet, cold and dreary day weeding and tending the strawberry bed.  Once the leaf mulch and weeds were cleaned from the top, we found a plethora of plants had already popped up.  Needless to say, it was pretty exciting to see.  I’m banking on them really filling in and producing double the berries we harvested last year.

Over in the Pollinator Garden I found that my parsley never really died despite the fact that it was never covered.  I’m thinking that it may be because this area is sheltered on two sides by the house and was thus slightly more protected from the elements.  After weeding some slightly limp leaves I found a perfectly large and healthy plant that will feed both myself and the caterpillars come spring.

And now, on to the most exciting part; I started 6 flats of seeds on my new Seed Starting Rack.

Seed Starting Rack

Awhile back my father-in-law built me this beautiful and no-frills Seed Starting Rack and this year I’m finally getting around to using it to its fullest.  Over the weekend I started:

Kale
Collards
Zucchini
Mustard
Arugula
Icebox Rainbow Sherbert Watermelon
Sunflower sprouts
Wheatgrass
Microgreens
Mesclun Mix

I also made an order with Baker Creek Seeds which consisted of:

Purslane
Catalogna Puntarelle Dandelion
Wrinkled Crinkled Cress
Blue Curled Kale
Five Color Silver Beet Chard
Orange Bell Peppers
A Grappoli D’Inverno Tomato
Black Pineapple Tomato
Illini Star Tomato
Tigger Melon
Orangeglo Melon
Ground Cherry

I’m so beyond excited to get my package and get started growing some of these new varieties.

More next time!

Leave a Reply

